Video test – INDOI

For my video test i put together a collection of clips that i have been filming from the start of this project. Using my phone i was able mimic VHS video style using an app. It definitely benefits my idea as it links back to some of my earlier themes for this project.

Using the VHS style i wanted it to feel like a home video throughout the film i show brief clips of old family photographs, art and past picture of my model. I did this because indoi’s brand is strong on family values this something i connected to personally. Using my aunt i was able to play off the theme of family from a modern day asian wife. My aunt is a very interesting woman her life experiences are something i wanted to show using her archives.

Using my phone it allowed me to recored freely. The unsteadiness of the camera movement was purposeful i did this so the viewer can make the easy connection with my theme of “homevideo”. Doing this video test helped me understand the importance of editing, piecing together this short fashion film to create a slight narrative. For my final edit for this film i may use some footage that isn’t filmed on my phone but with a camera. I am interested to see and explore that by using both VHS clips and camera shots will improve my film as a whole.

 

 

 

Leave a comment